- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Alabama landlords can raise the rent at the end of the lease but they may not do so without reason.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Late Rent Fees. Alabama landlords can only charge late rent fees if terms are included in the written lease agreement.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
Unless a lease specifies a mid-lease increase in rent, a landlord may only increase rent at the end of a lease.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for an Alabama landlord to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her legal rights. Such rights include filing a complaint with governing bodies regarding the health and safety of the rental property. It is also illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the tenant’s age, race, religion, familial status, nation of origin, or disability status.
Is there a rent increase limit?
The state of Alabama provides no limits to the amount that a landlord may increase rent.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
It is common practice for a landlord to provide a minimum of a 30-Day Notice to the tenant before raising rent when there is no lease.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
The state provides no legislation regarding rent increases.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
Although the state of Alabama provides no guidance regarding the amount a landlord may charge in late fees, he/she may not impose such fees on his/her tenant unless they are disclosed in the lease.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A maximum of $30 may be added to outstanding rent when a check is returned http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/codeofalabama/1975/8-8-15.htm.
Cities in the State With Rent Control
There is no rent control in the state of Alabama.