Alaska
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Alaska landlords can only raise the rent if it was stated in the lease.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Late Rent Fees. Alaska landlords can only charge late rent fees if terms are included in the written lease agreement.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

In Alaska a landlord may not raise rent during the term of a lease, unless so stated in the lease.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

In Alaska a landlord may not seek to increase rent as a form of retaliation when a tenant exercises his/her tenant rights. It is also illegal for a landlord to seek to raise rent based on the tenant’s age, race, religion, nation of origin, disability status, or familial status.

Is there a rent increase limit?

Alaska provides no limit to rent increases.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

When dealing with month-to-month “at-will” tenants, a landlord must provide a minimum of a 30-Day Notice before rent may be increased. (Alaska Landlord Tenant Act)

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Alaska provides no legislation controlling the frequency of rent increase,

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Late charges though unregulated must be disclosed in the lease to be enforceable.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

The amount of up to $30 must be established in the lease for the charge to be enforceable.

Cities in the State With Rent Control

Alaska is considered a Dillion Rule State with no rent controls or preemptions.