Colorado
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Colorado state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Colorado landlords must provide 7-day notice.
  • Bounced Check Fees. Colorado state landlords may charge $20 for returned checks due to insufficient funds.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

In the state of Colorado, as in most states, a landlord is limited by the terms of the lease when it comes to raising rent. A landlord may generally only increase the amount of rent at the end of the term of the lease. If a tenant is renting without the benefit of a written lease, the landlord may raise rent as he/she sees fit so long as the tenant is provided with a notice in accordance with the term of the rental period. CRS 13-40-107

When is it illegal to raise rent?

A Colorado landlord may not raise rent in retaliation when a tenant has notified the landlord or filed a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of a rental property. CRS 13-40-107

It is also illegal for a Colorado landlord to raise rent based on the race, gender, age, nation of origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant. Federal Fair Housing Act

Is there a rent increase limit?

There is no limit placed on the amount a landlord may increase rent in the state of Colorado.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

If a landlord is seeking to raise rent when a tenant has a lease, he/she must generally wait to renegotiate terms at the end of the lease agreement. If a landlord is seeking to raise rent on an “at-will” tenant, he/she will need to provide the appropriate notice. A landlord seeking to raise rent on a month-to-month tenant will need to provide a minimum of 7-Day Notice. CRS 13-40-107

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

The state of Colorado does not legislate the frequency with which rent can be raised so long as the landlord provides the appropriate amount of notice.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

The state of Colorado offers no guidance on the amount a landlord may charge for late fees, so long as the fees are reasonable.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

A Colorado landlord may add up to a $20 fee for a rental payment returned for insufficient funds.

Cities in the State With Rent Control

The state of Colorado has legislation establishing rent control as a state concern and declares that no county or municipality may establish legislation controlling rent on private rental property. CRS 38-12-301