Connecticut
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Arizona state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Arizona landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Late Rent Fees. Arizona state landlords must disclose the amount of penalty for late rent in the lease.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

A landlord may not increase the rent during the course of a lease unless the lease has provisions to allow the landlord to do so. If a tenant is renting without the benefit of a written lease, the landlord may increase rent on a monthly basis.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a landlord to increase rent based on the race, color, sex, age Nation of origin, familial status, sexual orientation, or disability status of a tenant. Connecticut Fair Housing

Is there a rent increase limit?

There is no legislation regarding rent increases.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

Connecticut legislation doesn’t require notice for an increase in rent. If a tenant is renting without benefit of a written lease, the tenancy is seen as being renewed on a monthly basis, and the landlord may increase rent without notice on a monthly basis.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

If a tenant is renting on a month-to-month basis, the rent can be raised on a monthly basis. When there is a lease, the rent may only be raised after the term of the lease has ended.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

In Connecticut a landlord may not seek late charges for past due rent until after a minimum of 9 days for month-to-month tenants. CGSA 47a15a

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

Connecticut law indicates that a tenant is not liable to a landlord for civil damages when a rent check is returned for insufficient funds. CGSA 52-565a

Cities in the State With Rent Control

The state of Connecticut has legislation keeping the local municipalities from adopting ordinances controlling rent CGS 7-148b. However, Connecticut law does allow municipalities to establish commissions to investigate and eliminate excessive rental charges.