- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Delaware state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Delaware landlords must provide 60 days notice from next rent due date.
- Bounced Check Fees. Delaware state landlords may charge up to $40 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A Delaware landlord may increase rent at the end of the lease agreement. When dealing with a month-to-month tenant, a landlord may increase rent at any time so long as the appropriate notice is provided Delaware Code 5107.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, sex, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act
It is also illegal for a landlord to increase rent in retaliation for a tenant practicing his/her tenant rights. Delaware codes
Is there a rent increase limit?
There is no state legislation limiting the amount rent may be increased.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
A landlord is required to provide a 60-Day Notice before rent may be increased Delaware Code 5106.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
There is no legislation regarding how often rent may be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
The state of Delaware allows a landlord to charge a late fee of no more than 5% of the rent payment Delaware Code 5501(d)
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A Delaware landlord may charge up to $40 for a payment returned for insufficient funds.
Cities in the State With Rent Control
The state has no legislation regarding rent control or stabilization. There is no legislation preempting municipalities from establishing ordinances regarding rent control.