Idaho
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Idaho state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Idaho landlords must provide 15 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Late Rent Fees. Idaho state landlords may charge up to $20 or 12% of rent for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

When there is a written lease, the landlord may not increase the amount of rent due until the lease has ended unless the tenant so agrees. A landlord may increase the amount of rent due on month-to-month rentals by providing the tenant with a 15-Day Notice before he/she expects the rental increase. Idaho Statute 55-307

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, gender, nation of origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act

Is there a rent increase limit?

Idaho does not regulate the amount of rent increases.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

When dealing with a month-to-month tenant, a landlord must provide the tenant with a 15-Day Notice before increased rent can be expected. Idaho Statute 55-307

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Idaho does not regulate the frequency with which rent can be increased.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Although Idaho does not regulate late fees, the lease should include this information.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

An Idaho landlord may seek the lesser of $20 or 12% of a rent payment returned for insufficient funds.

Cities in the State With Rent Control

Idaho has legislation preempting the ability of local municipalities to enact, enforce, or maintain ordinances controlling the amount of rent that can be charged for private residential property Idaho Statute 55-307.