- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Indiana state landlords can raise rent as long as they send a notice to the tenant.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Indiana landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Late Rent Fees. Indiana state landlords may charge up to $25 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
In the state of Indiana, legislation requires that a landlord provide a minimum of a 30-Day Notice before increasing rent unless otherwise indicated in the rental agreement Indiana Code 32-31-5-4
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal, in the state of Indiana, for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is there a rent increase limit?
The state of Indiana has no legislation limiting the amount that rent may be increased.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
Unless otherwise indicated in the lease, an Indiana landlord is required to provide a 30-Day Notice before he/she may increase the rent amount Indiana Code 32-31-5-4.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
The state of Indiana does not legislate the frequency with which rent can be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
The state of Indiana has no statutes regarding the amount that landlord may charge for late fees.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
In the state of Indiana, a landlord may charge a tenant up to a $25 fee for rental payments returned for insufficient funds Indiana Code 24-4.5-7-202
Cities in the State With Rent Control
The state of Indiana has legislation indicating that rental rates may not be regulated for privately owned real property unless authorized by an act of the general assembly Indiana Code 32-31-1-20