Iowa
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Iowa state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Iowa landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Late Rent Fees. Iowa state landlords may charge up to $30 for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

A landlord may not increase rent during the course of a lease. When seeking to increase the rent of a tenant who is renting without the benefit of a written lease, he/she must provide the appropriate amount of notice Iowa Code 562A.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a landlord to raise the rent of a tenant in retaliation for exercising his/her rights. If a landlord attempts to increase rent within a year of such a complaint, he/she is assumed to be doing so in retaliation Iowa Code 562A.

It is illegal for an Iowa landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.

Is there a rent increase limit?

Iowa doesn’t legislate the amount a landlord may increase rent

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

A landlord must provide 30-Day’s Notice when seeking to raise rent on a month-to-month tenant Iowa Code 562A

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Iowa does not legislate the frequency with which rent may be increased.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Late fees are determined according to the amount of rent paid. For rent up to $700, a landlord may charge up to $12 a day with a maximum of $60. For rent over $700, a landlord may charge up to $20 a day in late fees for a maximum of $100 Iowa Code 562A.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

An Iowa landlord may charge up to $30 for a bounced check.

Cities in the State With Rent Control

Iowa legislation preempts rent control.