- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Kansas state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Kansas landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Late Rent Fees. Kansas state landlords may charge up to $30 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A Kansas landlord may not increase rent during the course of a lease. Rent may be increased at renewal time. A landlord may increase the rent on an “at-will” tenant by providing the appropriate notice.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a landlord to increase rent on a tenant in retaliation for exercising his/her tenant rights KSA 58-2572.
It is illegal for a Kansas landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is there a rent increase limit?
Kansas doe not legislate the amount that rent may be increased.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
A Kansas landlord is required to provide a minimum 30-Day Notice to increase rent on a month-to-month tenant Kansas Tenants Handbook.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Kansas does not legislate how frequently rent may be increased.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
Kansas does not regulate late fees. However, late fees must be disclosed in the lease. If a landlord wished to begin charging late fees after the end of a lease where they are not disclosed, he/she must first provide a 30-day Notice before he/she may begin doing so Kansas Tenants Handbook.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A Kansas landlord may charge up to $30 for payment returned for insufficient funds. Kansas Bounced Check Fees
Cities in the State With Rent Control
Kansas legislation preempts rent control.