Kentucky
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Kentucky state landlords can raise rent as long as proper notice is provided.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Kentucky landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Bounced Check Fees. Kentucky state landlords may charge up to $50 for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

Kentucky landlords must abide by the terms established in the written lease. However, there is no limit placed on the amount rent may be increased when a lease is renewed. A Kentucky landlord may increase rent on “at-will” tenants so long as appropriate notice is provided.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a Kentucky landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant (Fair Housing Act).

It is also illegal for a Kentucky landlord to attempt to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her tenant rights (Kentucky Retaliation Legislation).

Is there a rent increase limit?

The state of Kentucky does not legislate rent increases.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

To increase rent on an “at-will” tenant, a Kentucky landlord must provide a 30-Day Notice before the increased rent may be expected KRS 383.695.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Kentucky does not limit the frequency with which rent increases may occur.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Although Kentucky does not legislate late fees, a landlord is required to disclose such fees in the lease.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

A Kentucky landlord may charge a tenant up to $50 for a payment that is returned for insufficient funds (KRS 514.040(4b)).

Cities in the State With Rent Control

Kentucky legislation preempts rent control.