Maryland
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Maryland state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Maryland landlords must provide 60 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Late Rent Fees. Maryland state landlords may charge up to $40 for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

The state of Maryland has no regulations regarding rent increases. Most renters will find information regarding the frequency, amounts, and procedures for rent increases in their lease. If there is no written lease, the landlord is required to provide written notice before raising rent.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for rent to be raised based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status or a tenant. It is also illegal for a Maryland landlord to raise rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her tenant rights.

Is there a rent increase limit?

The state of Maryland has no regulations regarding rent increases.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

If there is no lease, the landlord must provide a minimum of a 1-Month Notice before rent can be raised.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

The state provides no restrictions regarding the frequency with which rent may be increased

Laws Regarding Late Fees

The state of Maryland specifies that late fees cannot exceed 5% of the rental amount (Md Real Property Code 8-208 (d) (3)).

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

The state has no legislation regarding bounced check fees.

Cities in the State With Rent Control

  • Although Montgomery County has no rent control, it stipulates that a landlord must provide a written 90-Day Notice before rent can be increased, and limits the number of increases to once a year. The county also issues an annual recommendation for rental rates based on the Consumer Price Index for the Baltimore-Washington Metropolitan Area.
  • Takoma Park: publishes an annual rent stabilization allowance which informs Takoma Park landlords of the maximum amount they may increase rent (Takoma Park Rent Stabilization law Chapter 6-20).
  • College Park: requires landlords to provide a written 2-Month Notice to increase rental rates.