Michigan
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Michigan state landlords can raise rent only if it’s stated in the lease and only with appropriate notice.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Michigan landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Bounced Check Fees. Michigan state landlords may charge up to $35 for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

A Michigan landlord must follow the conditions established in the written lease. Therefore he/she may not increase rent during the course of a lease, unless this is included in the lease itself. However, a landlord may increase rent when there is no written lease, by providing the tenant with the appropriate amount of notice.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a landlord to raise rent in retribution for a tenant’s filing a claim regarding the health and safety of the property or for joining a tenant’s group (Michigan Legislation Regarding Retribution).

It is also illegal for a landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant (Fair Housing Act).

Is there a rent increase limit?

Michigan does not legislate the amount a landlord can increase a tenant’s rent.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

When dealing with a month-to-month tenant, a Michigan landlord must provide a 30-Day Notice notice before he/she may expect the increased rent (Michigan Comp Law 55-134).

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Michigan does not limit the frequency of rent increases.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Michigan has no laws regarding late fees, but the landlord should include any such rules in the written lease.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

A Michigan landlord may charge a tenant between $25 and $35 depending upon when payment is made good. (Michigan Comp Law 600.2952).

Cities in the State With Rent Control

Michigan law indicates that local municipalities may not “enact, maintain, or enforce,” any ordinance intended to impact the amount of rent one may charge for leasing private residential property (Michigan Law 123.411).