- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Minnesota state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Minnesota landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Bounced Check Fees. Minnesota state landlords may charge up to $30 for bounced checks.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
Unless language in the lease indicates otherwise, a Minnesota landlord may not increase rent during the course of a lease. A landlord may increase rent at any time when there is no lease, so long as the appropriate amount of notice is provided (Minnesota Requirements to Increase Rent).
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a landlord to increase rent in retaliation for a tenant’s exercising his/her tenant rights (MSA 504B.285 Subd 3).
It is also illegal for a Minnesota landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is there a rent increase limit?
Minnesota does not legislate rent increases.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
A landlord must provide a 30-Day Notice before he/she may expect increased rent from an “at-will” tenant (Minnesota Requirements to Increase Rent).
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Minnesota provides no legislation on the frequency of rent increases.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
A Minnesota landlord must disclose late fees in the written lease.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
A landlord may charge up to $30 for a bounced check (MSA 604.113).
Cities in the State With Rent Control
Minnesota legislation preempts a local municipality’s ability to adopt any ordinance intended to control rent on private residential property unless the ordinance is approved by general election MSA 471.9996