Mississippi
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Mississippi state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Mississippi landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Bounced Check Fees. Mississippi state landlords may charge up to $40 for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

A Mississippi landlord is held to the terms of the written lease. Therefore rent may not be increased during the term of a lease, unless so stated in the lease. However, a landlord may increase rent when there is no lease so long as the appropriate notice is provided.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a Mississippi landlord to increase rent in retaliation for a tenant exercising his/her tenant rights (Mississippi Code 89-8-17)

It is also illegal for a Mississippi landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.

Is there a rent increase limit?

The state of Mississippi does not legislate the amount of rent increase.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

To increase rent on a month-to-month tenant, a Mississippi landlord must provide a 30-Day Notice before the increased rent is expected (Mississippi Code 89-8-19).

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

The state of Mississippi does not legislate the frequency with which a landlord may increase rent.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Mississippi has no legislation regarding the imposition of late fees. However, late fees should be disclosed in the written lease.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

A Mississippi landlord may charge up to $40 for payment returned for insufficient funds (Mississippi Code 97-19-57)

Cities in the State With Rent Control

Mississippi law preempts rent control.