Missouri
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Missouri state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, Missouri landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Bounced Check Fees. Missouri state landlords may charge up to $25 + the bank’s fee for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

A Missouri landlord is limited by the conditions of the lease. Unless the lease states otherwise, a landlord may not increase the rent during the term of the lease. A landlord may however increase rent on an “at-will” tenant with the appropriate amount of notice.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a Missouri landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant (Fair Housing Act).

Is there a rent increase limit?

The state of Missouri provides no legislation on the amount that rent may be increased.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

Although Missouri provides no specific legislation on the amount of notice required to increase rent when dealing with a month-to-month tenant, it is generally held to be the same as notice required to terminate tenancy. In this instance, a landlord is expected to provide a 30-Day Notice before he/she may expect an increase in the rent (Missouri Code 441.060).

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Missouri provides no legislation on the frequency with how often rent may be increased.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Although Missouri provides no legislation guidance on the amount of late fees, a landlord must disclose information on late fees in the written lease.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

The state of Missouri allows a landlord to charge up to $25 plus the fee charged by the landlord’s bank for a rent payment returned for insufficient funds (Missouri Code 570.120)

Cities in the State With Rent Control

Missouri has no legislation limiting the amount that a landlord may charge for rent. However, the state does have legislation preempting rent control.