New Hampshire
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. New Hampshire state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, New Hampshire landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
  • Late Rent Fees. New Hampshire state landlords may charge up to $40 for bounced checks.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

A New Hampshire landlord may not increase rent during the term of the lease. A landlord may increase rent on an “at-will” tenant so long as the appropriate notice is provided.

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for a New Hampshire landlord to increase rent in retaliation for a tenant filing a complaint to the appropriate agency regarding the health and safety of the property. If a landlord increases rent within six months of a legitimate complaint, he/she will be considered to be acting in retaliation (NHRS 540-13-b).

It is also illegal for a New Hampshire landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.

Is there a rent increase limit?

New Hampshire has no limit to how much a landlord may increase rent.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

Rent may be increased at any time when there is no written lease so long as a 30-Day Notice is provided (New Hampshire Notice Requirements).

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

New Hampshire does not legislate the frequency with which rent may be increased.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

The state of New Hampshire has no legislation regarding late fees.

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

The state provides no guidance on how much a landlord may charge tenants for bounced checks.

Cities in the State With Rent Control

New Hampshire has no legislation regarding rent control. A 1981 ruling made by the NH Supreme Court determined that local municipality’s powers are limited to those allowed by the state. It was determined that towns have no authority to enact rent control measures (New Hampshire Supreme Court 1981).