- Rent Control / Increase Limitations. New Jersey state landlords can raise rent only after the lease has ended.
- Notice Required to Raise Rent. For month-to-month tenancies, New Jersey landlords must provide 30 days notice from next rent due date.
- Late Rent Fees. New Jersey state landlords may not charge for late rent payment unless stated in the lease.
When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?
A New Jersey landlord may not increase rent during the course of a lease. However, rent may be increased at the time of renewal. A landlord may increase rent on a mont-to-month tenant at any time so long as the appropriate notice is provided.
When is it illegal to raise rent?
It is illegal for a New Jersey landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.
Is there a rent increase limit?
Although the state of New Jersey provides no limits on rent increases, local municipalities may have ordinances regulating the amount rent may be increased.
How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?
When seeking to increase rent on an “at-will” tenant, a landlord will need to provide the appropriate amount of notice. To increase rent on a weekly tenant, a landlord must provide a 7-Day Notice. To increase rent on a monthly tenant, a landlord must provide a 30-Day Notice. To increase rent on a tenant renting year-to-year, a landlord must provide a 90-Day Notice before the increased rent may be expected.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased?
Although the state does not legislate the frequency with which a landlord may seek to increase rent, there may be local ordinances regarding this.
Laws Regarding Late Fees
The state does not regulate the amount that landlords may charge for late fees. However, late fee charges must be disclosed in the written lease.
Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees
New Jersey does not regulate the amount that landlords may charge for bounced checks. However, these fees must be disclosed within the written lease.
Cities in the State With Rent Control
Although the state of New Jersey does not regulate rent control, there are many municipalities within the state with ordinances regarding rent. Cities with rent control/stabilization ordinances include:
Cherry Hill Twp: Based on CPI
Chesilhurst Boro: Up to 6%
Dumont Boro: lesser of CPI or 5% of rent
East Brunswick: CPI
East Orange: 4-5%
East Rutherford: 5.5%
East Windsor: 2.5-3.5% depending upon who pays the heating costs
Eatontown: 2.5-2.5% depending upon who pays heat and water costs
Edgewater Boro: 3.5-5% depending upon who pays heat costs
Edison Twp: 5%
Egg Harbor: CPI and Tax Surcharge
Elizabeth: 3% with a $20 cap
Fair Lawn: lesser of 4% or CPI
Fairview: 7% with range between $20-35
Fort Lee: 5%
Franklin Boro: CPI
Franklin Township: 3-3.5% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Gloucester Twp: 4-4.5% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Guttenberg Town: 4%
Hackensack City: 4.5-5% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Haddon Twp: 3.3%
Hamilton Twp: CPI
Hasbrouck Heights: 5%
Hazlet: 4.08 based on CPI
Irvington: 3-4% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Jackson Twp: CPI
Jersey City: CPI with max of 4%
Lakewood Twp: 5-6.5%
Lawrence Twp: CPI
Leonia: 5% annually upon renewal
Linden: lower of CPI or 5%
Lindenwold Boro: 3.5%
Little Ferry Boro: CPI
Mantua Twp: CPI
Maplewood Twp: CPI
Maywood Borough: 4.25%
Metuchen Boro: CPI
Middle Twp: CPI
New Brunswick: 3.9%
New Milford Boro: 2%
North Arlington Boro: 4-6% depending upon who pays heating costs.
North Berger: 2.5% annually, capital improvement, hardship allowance
North Plainfield: 4-5% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Nutty Twp: 4-5% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Oldbridge Twp: determined yearly by town council
Palisades Park Boro: 4%
Passaic City: CPI
Pennsauker Twp: lower of 4% or CPI
Perth Amboy: 5%
Ridgefield Park Village: CPI
River Edge Boro: CPI
South Orange Village: 5.5%
Spring Lake Heights: 3.75-4.75% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Teaneck Township: 2-3% depending upon who pays heating costs.
Wayne Twp: CPI
West New York: CPI
West Orange Twp: 2-3% depending upon who pays heating costs.
West Patersen: CPI
Weymouth Twp: CPI
Woodbridge Twp: 5%
Woodland Park Boro: CPI