Oregon
Rent Increases & Fees

QUICK FACTS
  • Rent Control / Increase Limitations. Oregon landlords can only raise the rent after 1 year of tenancy. Rent increase is capped at 7% plus CPI.
  • Notice Required to Raise Rent. A 7-day notice is required for week-to-week tenancies and 90-day notice for month-to-month tenancies.
  • Late Rent Fees. Oregon landlords can charge reasonable late rent fees based on the penalties indicated in the written lease agreement.

When Can a Landlord Increase Rent?

According to Oregon legislation, introduced in 2019, a landlord may not increase rent within the first year of tenancy. After the first year, a landlord may increase rent so long as the appropriate notice is provided (Oregon SB608). However, the amount that a landlord may increase rent annually is capped at 7% plus the consumer price index (CPI).

When is it illegal to raise rent?

It is illegal for an Oregon landlord to raise rent based on the age, race, religion, nation or origin, familial status, or disability status of a tenant Fair Housing Act.

It is also illegal for an Oregon landlord to increase rent in retaliation within six months of a tenant having filed a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property, or having filed a complaint about housing discrimination, or joining or organizing a tenant’s group (ORS 90-385).

Is there a rent increase limit?

According to legislation passed in 2019, an Oregon landlord may not increase rent above 7% plus the consumer price index (CPI) annually (ORS 90-385). This legislation also makes it illegal for an Oregon landlord to increase rent within the first year of tenancy. This legislation does not cover rental property when the landlord owns two or fewer units on the same property and lives in one of the units.

How Much Notice is Needed for Raising Rent?

An Oregon landlord must provide a 7-Day Notice to increase rent on a week-to-week tenant and a 90-Day Notice on month-to-month tenants (ORS 90-385).

How Often Can Rent Be Increased?

Rent may not be increased within the first year of tenancy. After the first year, a landlord may increase rent annually.

Laws Regarding Late Fees

Oregon landlords are only allowed to charge a late fee if the fees are disclosed within the lease. A landlord may charge a “reasonable” one-time fee once the rent is more than five days past due, the landlord may charge a daily late fee of up to 6% of a “reasonable” one time fee, or the landlord may charge a late fee equal to 5% of the monthly rent every five days until rent is paid (ORS 90.260).

Laws Regarding Bounced Check fees

An Oregon landlord may charge a fee up to $35 plus any fees the landlord’s bank charged for a check returned for insufficient funds (ORS 90.260).

Cities in the State With Rent Control

The state of Oregon has new legislation instituting state-wide rent control (Oregon SB608).