Colorado Eviction Notice Forms

Generate an official Colorado eviction notice.
Create Document

A Colorado eviction notice form for nonpayment of rent is a written document that states a tenant has 3, 5, or 10 days to pay rent or to vacate the premises. Additionally, there are other notice forms for other possible grounds for eviction in Colorado.

Read further to learn about what information is required on an eviction notice for it to be valid, legally acceptable ways of delivering notices, and types of notices for all possible grounds for eviction.

QUICK LINKS

Information Required for All Colorado Notices

The specific information required for each eviction notice depends on the reason for the eviction and is addressed under each eviction type below.

In addition to including the statutorily required information on each notice, it may also be a good idea to ensure that the notice includes the name and contact information of the person being evicted, just to be sure the correct person receives the notice.

The landlord will also want to get the tenant’s signature confirming that they received the eviction notice, if the notice was hand-delivered.

Acceptable Ways of Delivering Notices

In the state of Colorado, landlords can deliver an eviction notice by any of the following methods :

  • Giving it to the tenant in person
  • Leaving it with someone residing in the rental unit
  • Leaving it with a family member over the age of 15 at the rental unit
  • Posting the notice in a conspicuous place on the rental unit (only if no one is at the rental unit)

The notice can be mailed to the tenant’s last known address if a current address is unknown.

Types of Eviction Notices

Each possible ground for eviction has its own process and notice requirements.

3/5/10-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent

A landlord is allowed to evict a tenant for failing to pay rent on time.

According to Colorado law, rent is considered late the day after it’s due; grace periods (if any) are addressed in the lease/rental agreement.

Once rent is past due, the amount of notice landlords must provide depends on the type of tenancy.

For tenants of “exempt” rental properties (where the landlord has five or fewer rental properties), the landlord must provide a 5-Day Notice to Pay. This notice gives the tenant the option to pay the past due amount in full within 5 days in order to avoid eviction.

For tenants who have been provided with rental housing by their employer, landlords are only required to provide a 3-Day Notice to Pay, giving the tenant 3 days to pay the rent amount owed in order to avoid eviction.

For all other residential tenancies, landlords must provide tenants with a 10-Day Notice to Pay, giving tenants 10 days to pay past due rent in order to avoid eviction.

If the tenant does not pay the rent due by the end of the notice period and remains on the property, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The Notice for Nonpayment of Rent should include the total amount of past-due rent owed and the fact that the tenant must pay all past-due rent or surrender the premises to the landlord.

Get the downloadable 3/5/10-Day Eviction Notice for Nonpayment of Rent form template below (.pdf direct link).

3/5/10-Day Eviction Notice for Non-Compliance

A tenant can be evicted in Colorado if they do not uphold their responsibilities under the terms of a written lease/rental agreement.

Colorado landlords are required to allow tenants to correct a lease violation in these instances, but the amount of notice they must provide depends on the type of tenancy.

For tenants of “exempt” rental properties (where the landlord has five or fewer rental properties), the landlord must provide a 5-Day Notice to Comply, giving the tenant 5 days to correct the issue in order to avoid eviction.

For tenants who have been provided with rental housing by their employer, landlords are only required to provide a 3-Day Notice to Comply, giving the tenant 3 days to correct the issue in order to avoid eviction.

For all other residential tenancies, landlords must give tenants a 10-Day Notice to Comply, giving tenants 10 days to correct the issue in order to avoid eviction.

Typical lease violations under this category could include things like damaging the rental property, having too many people residing in the rental unit, and having a pet when there’s a no-pet policy.

If the tenant fails to correct the issue before the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice must include :

  • The specific lease violation(s)
  • What the tenant can do to remedy the violation
  • The date the lease will terminate if the tenant doesn’t comply within the deadline

Get the downloadable 3/5/10-Day Eviction Notice for Noncompliance form template below (.pdf direct link).

1/3/21/28/91-Day Lease Termination Notice for “At-Will” Tenants

In the state of Colorado, if tenants “hold over,” or stay in the rental unit after the rental term has expired, then the landlord must give tenants notice before evicting them. This can include tenants without a written lease and week-to-week and month-to-month tenants.

Often this type of eviction applies to tenants who are at the end of their lease and the landlord doesn’t want to renew.

The amount of time required in the notice depends on the length of the tenancy.

  • Less than one week – For tenancies lasting less than one week, landlords must provide a 1-Day Notice to Quit.
  • At-will and one week to one month – For all at-will tenants and any tenancies of more than one week but less than one month, landlords are required to provide a 3-Day Notice to Quit.
  • One to six months – For tenancies lasting more than one month, but less than six months, landlords are required to provide a 21-Day Notice to Quit.
  • Six months to one year – If tenants have lived in the rental unit for at least six months, but less than one year, landlords are required to provide a 28-Day Notice to Quit.
  • One year or longer – For tenancies lasting one year or longer, landlords must provide tenants with a 91-Day Notice to Quit.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The notice must include :

  • The “particular time” the tenancy will terminate
  • A description of the rental unit
  • The signature of the landlord or the landlord’s agent

Get the downloadable Lease Termination Notice form template below (.pdf direct link).

3-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity

Tenants who are involved in illegal activity must be given 3 days’ written notice before the landlord can proceed with an eviction action. Under Colorado law, these are considered “substantial” violations of a rental agreement/lease.

In Colorado, illegal activity includes :

  • Violent felonies
  • Drug-related felonies
  • Criminal acts that carry a 180-day (or more) penalty AND are public nuisances under state/local law
  • Damage to another tenant’s/landlord’s property
  • Physically harming another tenant/the landlord

Tenants do not have the option of correcting a “substantial” violation, and must move out.

If the tenant remains on the property after the notice period expires, the landlord may proceed with the eviction process.

The eviction notice should include :

  • The reason for the eviction
  • The “particular time” the tenancy will terminate
  • A description of the rental unit
  • The signature of the landlord or the landlord’s agent

Get the downloadable 3-Day Eviction Notice for Illegal Activity form template below (.pdf direct link).