- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Ohio at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in Ohio for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Ohio at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in Ohio for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. An Ohio lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Ohio. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Ohio.
Ohio Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- When a tenant has a fixed-term lease in Ohio, the lease will end on the date that the agreement expires. No notice will be required to be sent to the landlord unless the lease is going to be broken early.
- A 30-day notice is required from the tenant when they have a month-to-month rental agreement.
- A tenant with a week-to-week rental agreement will need to provide the landlord with at least a seven-day notice.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Ohio
- A person who is entering active duty in a uniformed branch of the military will be able to break their lease without an issue. The tenant will need to give the landlord a written notice that they will be starting to serve, and the lease term will end 30 days after that point.
- If the landlord has harassed the tenant or violated their privacy in any way, they will lawfully be able to break the lease. In this state, the landlord is required to provide 24 hours of notice before entering the property, and entering without notice is violating the tenant’s privacy. Harassing the tenant can include things like turning off the utilities, changing the locks, or removing the doors and windows in the unit.
- If the premises is unsafe to live in and it violates the health and safety codes of the state, the tenant can break their rent obligation as well. This can include things like a lack of heat or hot water in the rental unit.