In New Jersey, a landlord has 30 days from the end of the tenancy to return the security deposit. However, New Jersey security deposit laws provide shorter periods in certain cases.
If the tenant ended the lease because of domestic violence, the landlord has 15 days to return the security deposit. If the lease was ended because the tenant was displaced as a result of flood, fire, evacuation or condemnation of the property the landlord has 5 days to return the security deposit.
Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here
The information for this answer was found on our New Jersey Security Deposit Law answers.