In North Carolina, a landlord has 30 days from the move out date to return the security deposit. The 30 days is counted from the end of the lease or the day the landlord gets the premises back, whichever is later.
If the landlord cannot finish or determine the cost of the restorations within the first 30 days, the landlord may send an interim list of deductions first. However, the landlord must provide a final accounting for the security deposit within 60 days from the end of the lease.
The information for this answer was found on our North Carolina Security Deposit Law answers.