Maryland allows landlords to charge a security deposit of up to 2 months’ rent. If they exceed this rate, the tenant may claim triple the amount in damages within 2 years of lease termination through Small Claims Court. Pet deposit fees may not apply to service animals.
Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here
The information for this answer was found on our Maryland Security Deposit Law answers.