Maryland law does not require that a move-in checklist is completed prior to the tenant taking possession of the unit. However, the tenant has a right to request a walkthrough of the property within 15 days of possession which may be used to create a condition statement. They may also request a move-out inspection with at least 15 days notice to be conducted within 5 days of lease termination. These rights must be denoted in the security deposit receipt or in the lease, otherwise the landlord can’t retain any part of the deposit.
Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here
The information for this answer was found on our Maryland Security Deposit Law answers.