If a landlord in Nebraska does not return the security deposit within the 14 day limit, the tenant stands to recover the full security deposit and legal costs associated with its recovery in Small Claims Court, if required. If the withholding is negligent and willful, the tenant may recover up to double the withheld sum or 1 month’s rent in damages.
Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here
The information for this answer was found on our Nebraska Security Deposit Law answers.