If a landlord in Utah does not return the security deposit within the 30 day limit, the tenant must serve them with a notice to provide a deposit disposition form. 5 days after delivery, the tenant may recover the full deposit plus a $100 civil penalty, and sue for up to $10,000 in Small Claims Court.
Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here
The information for this answer was found on our Utah Security Deposit Law answers.