What Happens If a Landlord Does Not Return the Security Deposit in Vermont?

This question is about Vermont Security Deposit Law

If a landlord in Vermont does not return the security deposit within the 14 day limit, the tenant may recover the full security deposit, plus double the withheld sum in damages if the withholding is in bad faith. Tenants may sue for up to $5,000.

Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here

The information for this answer was found on our Vermont Security Deposit Law answers.