How to Serve Eviction & Lease Termination Notices in Maine

How to Serve Eviction & Lease Termination Notices in Maine

Last Updated: September 27, 2022 by Marnie Snyder

In Maine, in order for the delivery of a lease termination or eviction notice to be legal, certain rules and procedures must be followed. If they are not and the case proceeds to court, the case may be postponed or dismissed by a judge.

Who Can Serve Notices in Maine?

In Maine, landlords can serve eviction notices and lease termination notices themselves. Landlords may choose to hire a sheriff, process server or independent party over eighteen (18) years old to serve an official notice, but they are not required to do so by law. 

When Can Notices Be Served in Maine? 

In Maine, lease termination and eviction notices can be served immediately on any day of the week and at any time of day. 

For a 7 Day Notice to Quit, the eviction notice form used for tenants that do not pay rent in full and on time, a landlord can serve the notice after the 15 day grace period. Unless otherwise specified in the rental agreement, rent is late if it is not paid within 15 days after the date it is due.

Acceptable Forms of Service in Maine

A landlord shall make three (3) good faith efforts to serve the tenant in person. If service cannot be made in person, the landlord may post the notice at the premises, such as on the entry door AND mail the notice to the tenant by first class mail with a certificate of mailing.

When sending the notice by first class mail, add three (3) calendar days to the notice period to account for variability in post office delivery times.

Obtaining Proof of Service in Maine

A landlord can demonstrate proof that a notice was delivered through the following methods:

  • Hand Delivery – by completing a Declaration of Service at the time of delivery.
  • First Class Mail – via certificate of mailing and by completing a Declaration of Service at the time of mailing.
  • Posting at the Premises – by taking a photograph and completing a Declaration of Service at the time of delivery.  

Maine Eviction & Lease Termination Notice Forms

Notice Form Grounds
7 Day Notice to Quit Eviction for Unpaid Rent
7 Day Notice to Comply or Vacate Eviction for Lease Violation
7 Day Notice to Vacate Eviction for Criminal Activity
30 Day Notice to Vacate Ending Periodic or Fixed Term Lease

Sources