Cost of an Eviction in Connecticut

Cost of an Eviction in Connecticut

Last Updated: April 4, 2023 by Elizabeth Souza

The total cost of an eviction in Connecticut for all filing, court, and service fees is $355. However, the total cost can vary by service and eviction enforcement fees. Eviction lawsuits shall be filed in the Superior Court.[ttip number=’1′ icon=’popover-balance’]

These filing, court, and service fees do not include outside costs such as legal fees or post-eviction fees (i.e., locksmith fees, storage costs for a tenant’s abandoned property, cleaning service fees, repair costs, or advertising costs for a vacant dwelling unit).

1. Initial Court Filing Fee

In Connecticut, if the eviction notice expires and the tenant remains on the property without correcting the issue, the landlord may file an eviction lawsuit (“Summary Process”) with the court.

The filing fee for an initial Summary Process is $175 in Superior Court. Note, the initial court fee is applicable to all counties in Connecticut.

2. Summons Service Fee

Once a Complaint is filed in Connecticut, the court will issue a Summons. The Summons is the tenant’s official notice of an eviction lawsuit and contains important information (i.e., when/where to appear in court). The landlord must arrange for a process server to deliver the Summons to the tenant.

Process must be served by a state marshal, constable, or other proper officer authorized by statute at least 12 calendar days prior to the eviction hearing. The Summons service fee is $30 (plus $10 for each additional tenant) [ttip number=’2′ icon=’popover-balance’] for delivering a Summons.

3. Writ of Execution Service Fee

In Connecticut, if the court rules in favor of the landlord, the court shall issue a Writ of Execution. The writ is the tenant’s final notice to vacate the premises.

A state marshal must serve the Writ of Execution to the tenant, and they may charge a service fee of $50. [ttip number=’3′ icon=’popover-balance’]

4. Writ of Execution Enforcement Fee

If a tenant does not vacate the premises after the writ’s notice period expires in Connecticut, a state marshal may charge $100 per hour [ttip number=’4′ icon=’popover-balance’] to enforce the writ.

The state marshal can remove the tenant from the premises and the tenant’s belongings from the premises and move the items to a storage facility.

5. Notice of Appeal Filing Fee

If either party chooses to file an Appeal in Connecticut, they may do so as long as the Notice of Appeal is filed within 5 calendar days of the judgment. The filing fee is $175. [ttip number=’5′ icon=’popover-balance’]