The cost of an eviction in Oklahoma for all filing, court, and service fees can vary heavily based on service and writ execution fees. For cases filed in District Court,[ttip number=’1′ icon=’popover-balance’]the average cost is $274.
|Initial Court Filing
|Writ of Execution Service
|Writ of Execution Enforcement
|Notice of Appeal Filing (Optional)
These filing, court, and service fees do not include outside costs such as legal fees or post-eviction fees (i.e., locksmith fees, storage costs for a tenant’s abandoned property, cleaning service fees, repair costs, or advertising costs for a vacant dwelling unit).
1. Initial Court Filing Fee
In Oklahoma, if the eviction notice expires and the tenant remains on the property without correcting the issue, the landlord may file an eviction lawsuit (“Forcible Entry and Detainer”) with the court the following business day. The filing fee for an initial Forcible Entry and Detainer is $85 in District Court.
2. Summons Service Fee
Once a Complaint is filed in Oklahoma, the court will issue a Summons. The Summons is the tenant’s official notice of an eviction lawsuit and contains important information (i.e., when and where to appear in court). The landlord must arrange for a process server to deliver the Summons to the tenant.
The Summons service fee varies by process server. For example, a sheriff can charge $50; however, a private process server could charge more.
3. Writ of Execution Service Fee
In Oklahoma if the court rules in favor of the landlord, the court shall issue a Writ of Execution. The writ is the tenant’s final notice to vacate the premises.
An Oklahoma sheriff must serve the writ to the tenant and can charge a service fee of $50. The writ may be served to the tenant personally or by posting a copy to a conspicuous place at the premises. Once served, the tenant has 48 hours to vacate the premises.
4. Writ of Execution Enforcment Fee
In Oklahoma, if a tenant remains at the premises after the writ expires, a sheriff or law enforcement officer can execute the writ by removing the tenant from the premises.
Execution fees vary depending on the county. For example, a sheriff in Lane County, the execution fee is $89.
5. Notice of Appeal Filing Fee
If either party chooses to file an Appeal, they may do so as long as the Notice of Appeal is filed within 2 calendar days of the judgment.