Get your FREE New Hampshire residential lease termination notice and read further about what state-specific landlord-tenant laws apply to break a lease in New Hampshire.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
New Hampshire Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- If a New Hampshire resident is seeking to end a year-to-year tenancy, he or she must provide 30 days’ worth of notification to the landlord.
- For those with month-to-month tenancies, 30 days is also the notification period for this kind of rental.
- For those with week-to-week leases, a month is the required notification period.
- For fixed-term leases, which are often called standard leases, the period is similar, but the tenant must first wait until fixed end date of the lease before notifying the landlord that he or she intends to terminate. (§§ 540:3(II)).
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in New Hampshire
- If a tenant is starting active military service, then he or she may serve a notice that will indicate that the lease is ending in 30 days. This will provide no penalties.
- If there are violations of the New Hampshire safety and health codes in the property and the landlord has made no attempt to reasonably repair these issues, then the tenant can apply for a constructive eviction. This provides a way to end the lease without incurring penalties. Additionally, the tenant can also withhold rent.
- If the landlord has harassed the tenant by removing doors, changing locks, or through verbal abuse, then this is also grounds for constructive eviction.
- If the landlord enters the premises without adequate notice, then the tenant can state that his or her privacy was violated, which is grounds for a lease termination.