- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in North Carolina at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 7 days prior to a payment date in North Carolina for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in North Carolina at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 7 days prior to a payment date in North Carolina for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A North Carolina lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in North Carolina. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in North Carolina.
North Carolina Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- If the tenant is ending a fixed-term lease, he or she is granted the ability to not provide notice as long as the lease ends naturally.
- With a month-to-month tenancy, only a seven-day period of notice is required in North Carolina.
- For week-to-week rentals, only a two-day notice must be furnished.
- For year-to-year leases, the tenant must provide a one-month notice of intent to terminate the lease.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in North Carolina
- If the rental unit violates North Carolina health or safety codes, then this is grounds for early lease termination without penalty. Tenants may even withhold rent.
- For victims of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking, breaking the lease without repercussions via a constructive eviction is possible. Once the notice is received, the lease ends within 30 days.
- If the landlord harasses or violates the renter’s privacy, then this is grounds for lease termination. This can include the landlord changing the locks, canceling utilities, entering the unit without valid notice, or threatening the tenant.
- Based on the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, which is a federal act, individuals starting military service can end their lease. Once notice is furnished, in 30 days, the lease will be canceled.