Oklahoma Lease Termination Notices

QUICK LINKS

Purpose. An Oklahoma lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Oklahoma. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.

Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant

  • With a fixed-term lease, regardless of the length of it, the lease will expire. There is no notice required form the tenant unless they decide to leave the unit before the term of the agreement is up.
  • For any tenant that has a month-to-month rental agreement, they will need to provide the landlord with a notice of 30 days before vacating the property.
  • When a tenant has a week-to-week rental agreement, they will be responsible for letting the landlord know seven days in advance that they will be moving out.

Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Oklahoma

  • When a tenant is starting active duty in a uniformed services part of the military, they will be permitted to end the rental agreement with a 30-day notice to the landlord.
  • If the rental unit violates any of the health or safety codes of Oklahoma law, they will be considered to be constructively evicted, which means they will no longer be required to pay any rent obligations that they agreed to pay.
  • If the landlord has been violating the tenant’s privacy or harassing them while they are still renting the unit, then their decision to break the lease will be justified.

Other Oklahoma Templates and Forms

Read About Residential Lease Termination Notices in Other States

Arizona

Colorado

Georgia

Illinois

New York

Texas