Grab your FREE New Mexico residential lease termination notice and read further about what state-specific landlord tenant laws apply to breaking a lease in New Mexico.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
Pennsylvania Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
For a tenant to terminate a lease in Pennsylvania here are the requirements:
- Monthly Agreement: To terminate a month-to-month agreement, a tenant gives the landlord a 30-days notice before the termination date.
- Lease For More than One Month: To terminate a lease agreement that is for a fixed term for longer than one month and that has a renewal option, a tenant gives the landlord a 30-days notice to vacate before the termination date. This is to inform the landlord of the intent not to renew the lease.
Legally Terminate a Lease Early in Pennsylvania
Lease termination early without penalty is possible in Pennsylvania for these reasons:
- Material Breach of Lease Agreement: A lease may be terminated by either the tenant or the landlord if there is a material breach of the terms and conditions of the lease agreement caused by the other party.
- Military Duty: A tenant can terminate a lease for a relocation required by active military duty by giving the landlord a notice of termination for a date that is at least 30 days after the next rent payment is due.
- Harassment or Privacy Violation: If a landlord harasses a tenant or violates the tenant’s right to privacy that is good cause for early lease termination.
- Unsafe or Unhealthy Conditions: If the rental unit is unsafe or violates the state’s health codes in a serious way, then this is a good cause for early lease termination.