- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 90 days prior to the end of a fixed-term lease in Virginia.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days from the next payment date in Virginia for month-to-month leases.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 90 days prior to the end of a fixed-term lease in Virginia.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days from the next payment date in Virginia for month-to-month leases.
Purpose. A Virginia lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Virginia. State law requires giving at least 30 days’ notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed-term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Virginia.
Virginia Notice Requirements for Lease Termination
For leases with fixed terms, the lease terminates without need for a notice of termination. However, it is still recommended to send one to eliminate any ambiguity or doubts on whether or not the tenant will be allowed to stay beyond the term of the original lease.
For month-to-month leases, either party may terminate the lease or stop the automatic renewals by sending a 30-day notice of termination to the other party. For week-to-week leases, 7 days’ notice is required.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Virginia
A tenant may legally terminate a lease early in Virginia, without penalty, by giving 30 days prior notice to the landlord for certain causes, which include: