If a landlord in Idaho does not return the security deposit within 21 days from the move out date, the tenant must provide written demand of return for the withheld funds within 3 days of the 21-day limit through certified mail. The landlord has 3 business days to respond, and if they don’t they may be liable for up to triple the security deposit in damages, plus court fees if the tenant files a lawsuit in Small Claims Court.
Questions? To chat with a landlord tenant attorney, Click here
The information for this answer was found on our Idaho Security Deposit Law answers.