Minnesota Landlord Retaliation Laws

Minnesota Landlord Retaliation Laws

Last Updated: May 16, 2023

Tenant Protected Actions
  • Complaints about Landlord’s Lease or Code Violations
Landlord Retaliatory Actions
  • Eviction
  • Increasing Tenant Obligations
  • Decreasing Tenant Services
Penalties for Retaliation
  • Court Injunction
  • Recover Cost of Damages

When Is It Illegal for Landlords to Retaliate in Minnesota?

It’s illegal for Minnesota landlords to retaliate with increased obligations, reduced services, or eviction against tenants who have made a good-faith complaint about the landlord’s legal responsibilities. The landlord has to prove non-retaliatory intentions if any of these previously mentioned actions take place fewer than 90 days after a complaint.

What Can Tenants Do in Response in Minnesota?

Minnesota tenants can use retaliation as a defense against a landlord in court. If the court agrees the landlord’s intention was retaliatory, or if the landlord can’t prove non-retaliatory intentions for actions within 90 days of a complaint, the court will nullify the action and award damages to the tenant.