How Much Can a Landlord Charge for a Pet Deposit?

Last Updated: August 8, 2023 by Ashley Porter

Some states do not specify limits on pet deposits. Other states have specific pet deposit limits, or include pet deposits into their security deposit limit laws.

State Maximum Pet Deposit
Alabama No limit
Alaska 1 month’s rent
Arizona Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent (mobile homes)
1½ months’ rent (other housing types)
Arkansas Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent
California Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent (unfurnished)
3 months’ rent (furnished)
Minus one month’s rent for an active service member
Colorado Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1 month’s rent (mobile homes)
2 months’ rent (other housing types)
Connecticut Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent (tenants under 62)
1 month’s rent (tenants 62 years old or older)
Delaware 1 month’s rent
Florida No limit
Georgia No limit
Hawaii 1 month’s rent
Idaho No limit
Illinois No limit
Indiana No limit
Iowa Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent
Kansas ½ month’s rent
Kentucky No limit
Louisiana No limit
Maine Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
3 months’ rent (mobile homes)
2 months’ rent (other housing types)
Maryland Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent
Massachusetts Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1 month’s rent
Michigan Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1½ months’ rent
Minnesota No limit
Mississippi No limit
Missouri No limit
Montana No limit
Nebraska ¼ month’s rent
Nevada Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
3 months’ rent
New Hampshire Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1 month’s rent or $100, whichever is greater
New Jersey Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1½ months’ rent
New Mexico Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1 month’s rent (leases shorter than 1 year)
No limit (leases 1 year or longer)
1 month’s rent (standard mobile homes)
2 months’ rent (double-wide mobile homes)
New York Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1 month’s rent
North Carolina Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
Week-to-week: 2 weeks’ rent
Month-to-month: 1½ months’ rent
Longer than month-to-month: 2 months’ rent
North Dakota $2,500 or 2 months’ rent, whichever is greater
Ohio No limit
Oklahoma No limit
Oregon No limit
Pennsylvania Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent
Except only 1 month’s rent for leases that are renewed beyond the 1st year
Rhode Island Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1 month’s rent
South Carolina No limit
South Dakota No limit
Tennessee No limit
Texas No limit
Utah No limit
Vermont No limit
Virginia Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
2 months’ rent
Washington No limit
Washington D.C. Total of all deposits cannot exceed:
1 month’s rent
West Virginia No limit
Wisconsin No limit
Wyoming No limit

State laws regarding pet deposits fall into three categories:

  • No limit to the pet deposit or any other security deposit
  • Limit to the total security deposit, which must include the pet deposit
  • Specific limit to the pet deposit

If a landlord collects a deposit and specifically identifies it as a “pet deposit,” the deposit must only be used for damage caused by the pet.

Can Landlords Collect Pet Deposits for Service or Emotional Support Animals?

No, landlords cannot collect a pet deposit from tenants with a service or emotional support animal. However, landlords can collect a security deposit from any tenant, including those with service and support animals.

Furthermore, landlords must not collect a greater security deposit from a tenant with a service or emotional support animal than they collect from other tenants.

However, if a service or emotional support animal causes damage to a rental unit, the landlord can deduct the cost of the damages from the security deposit.