- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 3 days prior to the end date of the fixed term of the lease in Connecticut.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 3 days prior to a payment date in Connecticut for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 3 days prior to the end date of the fixed term of the lease in Connecticut.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 3 days prior to a payment date in Connecticut for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (Periodic Lease of a Year or More) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 3 days prior to a payment date in Connecticut for periodic leases of a year or more.
Purpose. A Connecticut lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to terminate a lease agreement in Connecticut. State law requires giving at least 3 days notice for termination, whether for ending fixed term or month-to-month leases lease agreements.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Connecticut.
What is a Lease Termination Notice?
A residential lease termination notice is something that is used when one of the two parties that are in a lease agreement together decide that they would like to end the agreement. In the state of Connecticut, this can be something that is written to from the landlord to the tenant when the terms of the lease have been broken. The document is designed to let the tenant know that the landlord wants to have the property back, and since Connecticut does not have a law that requires the landlord to give the tenant a specific amount of time before sending the notice, the amount of time that is required should be stated in the original lease.
In general, a month-to-month lease will be given 30 days before the termination of the lease takes place, but if the terms of the lease require more days for a yearly contract, more must be given. When a rental agreement is designed to renew automatically, the landlord will be required to send this notice to the tenant if they do not wish for the tenant to continue living in the unit.
Tenants who wish to get out of a rental agreement can also send this notice to the landlord to let them know of an intent to leave the premise within a certain period of time. This can be used to get out of a month-to-month lease, and it can come in handy when the landlord does not adequately upkeep the property.
How to Write a Residential Lease Termination Notice
When the landlord decides that this form is required for a tenant, the majority of the information that is needed for this form is going to be found on the original rental agreement. One of the main things to be aware of is the date of the original agreement and the date when the agreement ended. This is important so that the landlord can put the exact date on the notice so that there is no error in the timing. The information that should be on this notice includes:
This section is designed to address the tenant or the person who the notice is for. This is going to be the full name of the tenant, and all of the tenants and the roommates in the unit will need to be addressed in this part. The address of the unit that is being requested to be vacated also needs to be listed in this part of the notice. Make sure that the full street address is included with the unit number, the floor, and the county.
This section is designed to help inform the leaseholder that their lease is not going to be renewed. The date that the agreement began and the terms that were agreed to in the lease should be on the notice as well as the date when the rent is due next. Make sure to include the reason for the termination as well. After that date, the landlord will advise the tenant to vacate the unit within 30 days, but this time can vary in this state, but only if the time is specified on the lease. When the time that was allowed in the notice is up, the tenant should have vacated, which means the property can be repaired, cleaned, and rented again.
The landlord will also need to state what will happen if the tenant does not comply with the terms outlined in the notice. If the tenant does not vacate the property within the allotted time, then legal proceedings may follow. If the notice is not received with the amount of time that was agreed upon in the rental arrangement, the tenant may be permitted to remain on the premise for another 30 days. They will still need to pay the rent that is due during that time that they are living in the unit.
Once all of the information about the tenant and the unit is filled out, the landlord will need to sign the notice and date it before it is sent out. The name of the individual who is filing the form will also need to be written on the notice as well.
Delivering the Notice
When everything is signed and dated, the notice can be sent to the tenant, but it must be delivered by a person on the management team, but not the landlord. The delivery method must always be recorded so that the landlord can prove that they were attempting to deliver it in a timely fashion. The notice can be delivered in three different ways, which include:
- The notice can be delivered in person. If this is the delivery method, the person giving the notice must tell indicate who the notice is given to as well as the time and the date.
- The person who is serving the papers can give the notice to a responsible individual who is staying in the unit. This person is responsible for presenting the notice to the tenant when they are not there to receive the notice. The person must be over 18 years of age, and to make sure that the tenant receives the notice, it must also be mailed to the tenant as well.
- If there is no one available to receive the notice in person, the delivery person can post the notice to the door. This is an unlikely method of delivery because reaching the tenant will be a few times before this method is used. If the notice is left in this way, it must also be mailed to the tenant as well.
The Next Steps
In the state of Connecticut, when the notice has been signed and delivered, both of the parties will need to walk through the unit together to see if there is any damage. This should be done at some point during their last day in the unit. Also, any utilities that need to be switched back into the landlord’s name should be done as well.