- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Louisiana at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 10 days prior to a payment date in Louisiana for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Louisiana at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in Louisiana for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (Yearly Lease with No End Date) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days from the next payment date in Louisiana for yearly leases with no end date.
Purpose. A Louisiana lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Louisiana. State law requires giving at least 10 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Louisiana.
Louisiana Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- When the tenant is ready to vacate the unit with a fixed-term lease, they must give the landlord a 30-day notice that they are planning on vacating the premises.
- For a month-to-month lease agreement, the tenant will be required to provide a 10-day notice to the landlord.
- If the tenant happens to have a week-to-week lease, then they will need to provide the landlord with at least a five-day notice before vacating the property.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Louisiana
- The tenant is about to enter active military duty. The lease will end 30 days after the notice that the tenant is going to be deployed is sent to the landlord.
- The rental unit is unsafe to live in. The landlord has made the unit unlivable, so there is no further need to pay the rent.
- The unit has safety or health code violations. If there is a major repair problem such as a lack of heat or hot water.
- The landlord has harassed the tenant.
- The landlord has violated the privacy of the tenant. They do things like change the locks, enter the unit unannounced, or turn off the utilities.
When it comes to convenient ways to rent, many consider the month-to-month one of the best because of the fact that it’s designed to have less of a commitment. As a result, either the landlord or his or her renter can opt to end the agreement, which is called a “no cause” lease termination. This is quite freeing because fixed-term lease agreements have to be honored in most situations by both parties or penalties occur. In the state of Louisiana, the landlord or the tenant must provide at least 10 days’ worth of notice before the lease can be considered ended.
These leases occur when the two parties do not have an agreement that explicitly states when the rental period will end, and these can occur after a fixed-term lease has expired and hasn’t been renewed. When there’s a month-to-month lease, the landlord and the tenant understand that the lease effectively ends at the end of the month and renews automatically at the start of the subsequent month.
Many appreciate these leases because of the freedom. For example, the tenant can use a month-to-month lease if they are only in an area for a short amount of time. A landlord, on the other hand, can use a lease of this type when they only intend to briefly lease out a piece of their property.
What is a Lease Termination Notice?
A residential lease termination notice is delivered to a tenant when a landlord requests to end the lease agreement. The ultimate goal of this notice is to have the tenant move out of the property within the specific time frame indicated by Louisiana law.
For both the tenant and the landlord, a lease termination notice is a convenient way for either party to end the terms of a traditional month-to-month lease agreement. It’s essential to understand how a month-to-month rental works in the state of Illinois. With one of these, there isn’t a traditional lease in place, which means that both parties aren’t limited by standard lease terms, so either party may end the lease at will. Of course, based on Louisiana, both parties must give adequate notice before terminating a lease and leaving the unit vacant. In the state, the notice of intent period must be at least 10 days long for both parties.
This period is easily long enough for a renter to find new accommodations and an owner to seek out new tenants for the unit. This is also advantageous because there is no need to file a Notice to Quit document for particularly difficult tenants; simply provide this document, and the monthly-renewing month-to-month lease will cease renewing.
For nonpayment of rent, the notice required is 5 days.
How to Write a Lease Termination Notice
Despite the utility of this kind of notice, it’s imperative that all of the appropriate information is included so that there’s no question of its legality. Fortunately, it’s relatively easy to find the required information in the original month-to-month lease agreement, so having a copy of this at-the-ready will significantly make things easier. Some of the information that’ll be needed will include the following.
The Tenant or Landlord Information
For this part of the lease termination notice, the recipient of the notice should be clearly addressed. For this reason, include the full name of the tenant, landlord, or management company. Optimally, the name presented here should be printed precisely how it appeared on the original lease.
Information about the Property
The next section will need to establish the property that is going to be made vacant after the 10-day period has elapsed. This means that the full physical address will need to be provided. This includes:
- The street name
- The unit number
- The building number
- Any side streets
- The county
- The city
- The zip code
Including this information will ensure that there’s no confusion about the property, which can help expedite the process in the courts if the notice is disputed.
Every lease is different, so it’s important to include identifying aspects of the lease in the notice. Landlords may want to include things like the original date of the lease signing and the terms that were set forth when the lease was signed. It should also be relayed that the other party understood when signing the lease, that the state mandates a 10-day notice before the unit will have to be made vacant. Once the 10 days have elapsed, it’s to be understood that the tenant must vacate so that the landlord may then elicit repairs in the unit so that it can be made ready for his or her needs or for the accommodation of future tenants.
For whatever reason, if a tenant opts to not vacate the premises, then the landlord can pursue a standard eviction. This will require both parties to bring their case in front of a judge, which may or may not result in an order for the tenant to move out.
Finally, at the tail end of the notice, there should be a dedicated area that each party can use to sign the document. The individual that has sent out the lease termination notice will first have to sign his or her name, which indicates their intent. After the signature, the individual should also print their name and date the document as well. Once the document has been sent out, there should also be room for the recipient to also sign, print, and date the paper as well.
The appropriate information must be present in this document for it to be legal, so to have all of this information in hand, here are a few things to have ready:
- The new address of the tenant: If the tenant is the one providing the notice, he or she should include their forwarding address. Not only will this provide the landlord with a place to forward mail and documents, but it also provides the other party with a means of sending the security deposit. In Louisiana, the landlord has a month to return this deposit, and if there has been damage to the property, then the lessor can use the money to elicit repairs. Without the forwarding address, the landlord can keep the deposit after a month has passed. Also, if the tenant abandons the premises, then the landlord has no legal requirement to return this fee. If there is a situation where the security deposit has been utilized for repairs, then Louisiana requires that the landlord provides a full accounting to the tenant.
- A copy of the original lease: When writing one of these notices, the original lease becomes very useful because it presents a lot of crucial information. For example, for a month-to-month, the original lease will explicitly state the rules of the at-will lease so that it can be referenced in the notice. This also provides information like the correct spelling of each party’s names.