Get your FREE Minnesota residential lease termination notice and read further about what state-specific landlord tenant laws apply to breaking a lease in Minnesota.
Click here to view/download the direct PDF file.
Minnesota Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- For a month-to-month tenancy, both the landlord and his or her tenant must only provide a single month’s worth of notification to the opposing party. This gives both parties time to prepare.
- With standard, fixed-term leases, the lease termination must be provided within 30 days of the end of the lease.
- For week-to-week rentals, as a rule, both parties must provide at least the least term’s worth of notification to the other party. In this case, since a week-to-week rental renews every week, then the involved parties must provide seven days’ worth of notice.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Minnesota
- If a tenant is beginning active military service, he or she will not be required to finish out their lease. Nor will they be required to seek out a replacement renter. For this type of termination, the prospective uniformed service member’s tenancy will be ended following 30 days after the receipt of the termination notice.
- If a tenant or the tenant’s child is a victim of domestic violence, then Minnesota statute § 504B.206 establishes that the lease may be terminated without repercussion.
- When a landlord fails to make a unit safe for tenants or the unit in some way violates Minnesota health or safety codes, then this is also grounds for a constructive eviction, which bears no penalties for the tenant.
- If a landlord violates the privacy rights or harasses his or her tenant, then this falls under § 504B.211 and is grounds for lease termination.