- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Nevada at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in Nevada for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in Nevada at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in Nevada for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A Nevada lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in Nevada. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in Nevada.
Nevada Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- If the tenant has a month-to-month rental agreement and they wish to end the agreement, they will need to provide the landlord with a 30-day notice.
- With a fixed-term lease that lasts a year, there is not going to be a statute that the tenant will have to follow when they need to vacate early. If there are specific terms in the lease for this situation, follow the procedure that was agreed upon in the document.
- When the tenant has a week-to-week lease, they will be required to provide at least a 7-day notice for the landlord.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in Nevada
- The tenant is able to break the terms of the lease without facing a penalty when they are entering into active service in the military.
- The tenant is permitted to break the terms of the lease by leaving before the agreed upon time when they are over the age of 60and they have a mental or a physical disability that will no longer allow them to live alone.
- If the rental unit has been deemed unsafe or unsuitable for living according to the safety codes in the state of Nevada, the tenant does not need to continue living in the unit. They will not be charged if they break the lease in this situation.
- If the landlord has violated the privacy of the tenant at any time, the tenant can break the terms of the lease without further obligations to the landlord. This can include doing things like removing the windows, turning off the utilities, or changing the locks.
- If a tenant is a victim of domestic violence and can provide a valid protection order from the courts, they have the right to break the terms of the lease that they are in without repercussions.