North Dakota Lease Termination Notice Forms

Last Updated: March 15, 2024 by Roberto Valenzuela

A North Dakota lease termination notice is a document which officially announces the upcoming end of a rental tenancy. Either a landlord or tenant may give notice, in most cases at least 30 days in advance.

Types of North Dakota Lease Termination Notice Forms

Notice Form Lease Type
30 Day Notice To Vacate Periodic / Fixed Term

North Dakota 30 Day Notice To Vacate

Download: PDF | Word

A North Dakota 30 Day Notice To Vacate terminates a periodic tenancy (e.g. week-to-week or month-to-month) or a fixed term lease, as well as rental situations on an expired lease or with no written lease. The non-terminating party must receive notice at least thirty (30) calendar days before the date of termination.

How To Write a Lease Termination Notice in North Dakota

To ensure the legal compliance of a lease termination notice:

  1. Use the full name of the receiving party, and address of record, if known
  2. Specify the termination date of the lease or tenancy
  3. Fill in the full address of the rental premises
  4. Provide updated/current address and phone number information
  5. Print name and sign the notice
  6. Complete the certificate of service by indicating the date and method of notice delivery, along with printed name and signature

It is easy to lose an otherwise justified legal action because of improper notice. Check carefully to ensure enough time after notice is delivered, not when it’s sent.

How To Calculate Expiration Date in North Dakota

The “clock” for a lease termination notice starts “ticking” the day after the notice gets delivered (served). For example, to give at least 30 days of notice and terminate a tenancy as of June 30th, delivery of the termination letter must be no later than May 31st.

In most jurisdictions, if the last day of a notice period is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the period continues to run until the end of the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.

How To Serve a Lease Termination Notice in North Dakota

North Dakota law is not specific on requirements for serving a lease termination notice other than requiring some written notice, so landlords and tenants may use any method which conveys the necessary information in an effective manner. The following methods, used for serving official court business, represent the legal gold standard in the state:

  • Hand delivery to the other party
  • Hand delivery to a person of suitable age and discretion at the other party’s address, who can accept the notice on behalf of the other party
  • Delivery by mail or courier service, return receipt requested, addressed and delivered to the other party

Notice periods begin counting from when notice is delivered, not when sent.