- Tenant to Landlord (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in North Dakota at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the landlord a letter.
- Tenant to Landlord (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in North Dakota for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
- Landlord to Tenant (End of Lease) [.pdf] – no prior notice is required in North Dakota at the end of a fixed-term lease, but it is recommended to send the tenant a letter.
- Landlord to Tenant (Month-to-Month) [.pdf] – notice is required at least 30 days prior to a payment date in North Dakota for month-to-month leases or “at will” tenants that pay rent month-to-month.
Purpose. A North Dakota lease termination letter (“Notice to Vacate”) is a required document to end month-to-month lease agreements in North Dakota. State law requires giving at least 30 days notice for termination. However, state law does not require notice to be given to end fixed term lease agreements on their end date.
Read further to learn more about notice requirements and the residential lease termination process in North Dakota.
North Dakota Notice Requirements for Lease Termination by Tenant
- When a tenant has a fixed-term lease, notice is not required for a tenant who plans to end their tenancy when the lease expires.
- A tenant with a year-to-year lease must provide a one month notice when they wish to vacate the premise.
- A one-month notice is also going to be required for tenants with a month-to-month lease that they wish to end.
- With a week-to-week lease, a notice of a single week must be provided to the landlord before vacating the property.
Legally Terminating a Lease Early in North Dakota
- When a person joins active duty in the military, they will not be responsible for keeping the terms of the lease that they originally signed. When they send a notice to the landlord, the tenancy will be able to end in 30 days.
- If there are safety and health violations in the unit, the tenant will be able to move out of the property without facing consequences.
- Any tenant who is a victim of domestic violence will be able to break the lease if they need to in order to be safe. There will be no penalty forced on the individual or members of their family in this situation.
- If the landlord has harassed the tenant or violated their privacy in any way, the tenant has the right to break the terms of the lease and move out. This can include things like turning off the utilities, removing doors or windows on the property, or entering the premise without permission or an adequate reason.