If a rental property in Maine fails to meet legally required health and safety standards, tenants have the right to report their landlord to local public officials who may choose to follow up, inspect the property and cite the landlord for such violations.
What Are Considered Unsafe Living Conditions in Maine?
In Maine, unsafe living conditions exist when a rental property doesn’t have safe and working:
- Required heating.
- Common areas.
- Features impacting health, safety, or habitability.
What Should Tenants Do Before Reporting a Violation in Maine?
In most cases, before reporting a violation, a tenant in Maine must notify the landlord in writing about the issue and ask him to fix it within a reasonable time (14 days, when the tenant is expressing an intention to repair and deduct if the landlord fails to repair).
How Can Tenants Report a Violation in Maine?
Tenants in Maine should report violations to the local office or officers responsible for housing code enforcement. The exact process depends on municipality.
|Permitting & Inspections
|Planning & Code Enforcement
After receiving a complaint, an inspecting officer might contact the tenant for more information. Then the officer will usually inspect the property and cite the landlord for any code violations.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Portland?
A tenant in Portland can report a health or safety violation by calling Permitting & Inspections at (207) 874-8703 or using the provided online form. Confirm a location and select a topic. Most issues fall under “Housing Violation” or “Landlord/Tenant Issues.” Describe the issue, select contact information, and submit.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Lewiston?
A tenant in Lewiston can report a health or safety violation by calling Planning & Code Enforcement at (207) 513-3125. Be ready to provide a location, detailed description of the issue, and contact information.
How Can a Tenant Report a Health or Safety Violation in Bangor?
A tenant in Bangor can report a health or safety violation by calling Code Enforcement at (207) 992-4230 or using the online form. Most issues will fall under “Housing/Neighborhood Issues.” Enter a location, describe the issue, provide contact information, and submit. Account creation is optional but enables request updates.
What Could Happen to a Landlord After a Complaint Is Made in Maine?
After a tenant files a complaint about unsafe living conditions in Maine, an officer may inspect the property. The landlord must fix noted code violations, within a maximum of 30 days. Otherwise, the landlord could be fined and the local government might file to condemn the property.