Alaska Rent Increase Laws

Alaska Rent Increase Laws

Last Updated: January 2, 2024 by Jessica Menefee

Rent Increase Facts Answer
Reason Needed? No
Maximum Amount None
Required Notice 14 or 30 Days

Does Alaska Have Rent Control  Laws?

Alaska does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law does not prohibit local governments from establishing rent control laws.

Read More

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Alaska?

Landlords in Alaska can raise the rent at any time, as long as they comply with the following:

  • Wait until the end of the lease term (unless otherwise specified in the lease)
  • Aren’t raising rent for discriminatory or retaliatory reasons
  • Don’t break any rent control laws
  • Give reasonable notice

When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Alaska?

Landlords in Alaska may not raise the rent if:

  • The increase is applied in a way that discriminates against one of the protected classes specified in the Fair Housing Act.
  • It is done in response to a protected tenant action, such as filing a complaint. This is known as “retaliation.
  • It is during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement).

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Alaska?

Alaska landlords can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Alaska?

In Alaska, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 30 days’ notice to increase the rent to a month-to-month tenant. If the tenancy is week-to-week, the landlord must give 14 days’ notice.

Landlords do not need to provide a reason for the rent increase on the notice letter. When the tenant receives the notice, they may choose to enter a new lease at a higher rate or move out.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Alaska?

In Alaska, landlords can raise the rent by any amount they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.