|Max / Limit||7% + Inflation (14.6% in 2023)|
|Notice Requirement||90 Days (except week-to-week tenants)|
Does Oregon Have Rent Control?
Yes, Oregon has rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent. Furthermore, state law prohibits local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Oregon?
In Oregon, landlords cannot raise the rent above 7% plus the consumer price index (CPI) per year. Currently, the maximum rent increase for 2023 is 14.6%.
Exceptions: The rent increase limit does not apply if:
- The certificate of occupancy was issued less than 15 years before the date of the notice of the rent increase; or
- The rental unit is subsidized by the government or a local program
- The tenancy is week-to-week
Vacancy Decontrol: When a lease term ends and new tenants move in, the maximum rent increase does not apply unless both of the following conditions exist:
- The previous lease term was shorter than one year
- The previous lease was terminated without a tenant-based cause (e.g. illegal activity or failure to pay rent)
In Portland, landlords must provide relocation assistance if the rent is increased above 10% within any 12-month period and the tenant decides to move. The amount of assistance depends on the size of the rental unit:
- $2,900 – Studio or a single bedroom in a larger unit
- $3,300 – 1-bedroom unit
- $4,200 – 2-bedroom unit
- $4,500 – 3-bedroom unit or larger
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Oregon?
In Oregon, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the first year of a tenancy or during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Oregon?
In Oregon, landlords cannot raise the rent during the first year of a tenancy, during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement), for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age), or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant making a complaint).
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
In addition to the characteristics above, state law also prohibits discrimination due to the tenant’s status as a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.
Oregon law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs after something a tenant does. The law does not specify what time period between the tenant action and rent increase qualifies as retaliation, so landlords should act in good faith when increasing rent.
Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant action, such as:
- Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property, delivery of mail, or discrimination
- Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union
- Making a good faith complaint to the landlord
- Testifying in court against the landlord
- Defending an eviction action
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Oregon?
In Oregon, landlords cannot raise the rent during the first year of the tenancy (except for week-to-week tenants) or during a lease term and must give 90 days’ notice to increase the rent. Landlords must give week-to-week tenants 7 days’ notice before increasing rent.
The rent increase notice must be delivered by hand-delivery or first-class mail and state:
- The amount of the rent increase
- The amount of the new rent
- Reason the rental unit is exempt if the increase exceeds the limit
- The date the increase becomes effective
Rent increase notices cannot be sent by certified or registered mail.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Oregon?
Landlords in Oregon can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as sufficient notice is provided each time and rent is not increased during the first year of a tenancy (except for week-to-week tenants). However, the total rent increase in a 12-month period cannot exceed the permitted rent increase limit.
- 1 OR Rev Stat § 91.225
…a city or county shall not enact any ordinance or resolution which controls the rent that may be charged for the rental of any dwelling unit.Source Link
- 2 OR Rev Stat § 90.600
…the landlord may not increase the rent…in an amount greater than seven percent plus the consumer price index above the existing rent.Source Link
- 3 Portland City Code § 30.01.085
If…Tenant receives an Increase Notice indicating a Rent increase of 10 percent or more within a rolling 12-month period…the Landlord shall pay to the Tenant Relocation Assistance…Source Link
- 4 OR Rev Stat § 90.449
A landlord may not…increase rent…Because a tenant or applicant is, or has been, a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.Source Link
- 5 OR Rev Stat § 90.385
…a landlord may not retaliate by increasing rent…Source Link
- 6 OR Rev Stat § 90.130
Every duty under this chapter and every act which must be performed…imposes an obligation of good faith in its performance or enforcement.Source Link
- 7 OR Rev Stat § 90.323
…the landlord may not increase the rent…during the first year…at any time after the first year of the tenancy without giving the tenant written notice at least 90 days prior to the effective date of the rent increase.Source Link
- 8 OR Rev Stat § 90.323
If a tenancy is a week-to-week tenancy, the landlord may not increase the rent without giving the tenant written notice at least seven days prior to the effective date of the rent increase.Source Link
- 9 OR Rev Stat § 90.155
…written notice shall be executed by…personal delivery…first class mail…Source Link
- 10 OR Rev Stat § 90.600
The written notice…must specify…amount of the rent increase…new rent…facts supporting the exemption…the date on which the increase becomes effective.Source Link
- 11 OR Rev Stat § 90.100
“First class mail” does not include certified or registered mail, or any other form of mail that may delay or hinder actual delivery of mail to the recipient.Source Link