Nevada Rent Increase Laws

Nevada Rent Increase Laws

Last Updated: February 27, 2023 by Ashley Porter

Quick Facts Answer
Reason Needed No
Max / Limit None
Notice Requirement Month-to-month: 60 days

Week-to-week: 30 days

Does Nevada Have Rent Control?

No, Nevada does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent. Although state law does not prohibit local governments from establishing their own rent control laws and some have made attempts, none have been successful.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Nevada?

In Nevada, landlords can raise the rent by any amount and for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease, and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Nevada?

In Nevada, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as it is not discriminatory or retaliatory in nature and proper notice is given.

When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Nevada?

In Nevada, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term, for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age) or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant making a complaint).

The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:

  • Age
  • Race
  • Gender (including gender identity)
  • Sexual orientation
  • Religion
  • Nationality or origin
  • Familial status
  • Disability

Nevada law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. The law does not specify what time period between a tenant action and rent increase qualifies as retaliation, so landlords should act in good faith when increasing rent. However, rent increases are not considered retaliatory if they apply evenly to all tenants.

Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant:

  • Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property (unless the condition is due to the tenant’s lack of care)
  • Complaining to the landlord or a law enforcement agency regarding a violation of the law
  • Participating in a judicial proceeding or arbitration against the landlord
  • Being a victim of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking
  • Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Nevada?

In Nevada, landlords cannot raise the rent during a lease term and must give 60 days’ notice to increase the rent. However, if the tenancy is a term less than month-to-month (i.e. week-to-week), the landlord must only give 30 days’ notice.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Nevada?

Landlords in Nevada can increase the rent as often as they choose as long as they provide sufficient notice each time.