Arizona Rent Increase Laws

Arizona Rent Increase Laws

Last Updated: January 12, 2023 by Ashley Porter

Quick Facts Answer
Reason Needed No
Max / Limit None
Notice Requirement 7 or 30 Days

Does Arizona Have Rent Control?

No, Arizona does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law prohibits local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.

How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Arizona?

In Arizona, landlords can raise the rent by any amount that they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.

When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Arizona?

In Arizona, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.

When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Arizona?

In Arizona, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement), for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age), or for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant joining a union).

The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:

  • Age
  • Race
  • Gender (including gender identity)
  • Sexual orientation
  • Religion
  • Nationality or origin
  • Familial status
  • Disability

Arizona law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs within 6 months after something a tenant does.

Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant:

  • Filing a complaint with the appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property or the enforcement of the wage-price stabilization act
  • Making a complaint to the landlord for their failure to uphold their responsibilities
  • Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union

How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Arizona?

In Arizona, landlords must givenotice as follows:

  • 30 days’ notice: Month-to-month lease
  • 10 days’ notice: Week-to-week lease

For tenants on a year lease, landlords must wait until the end of the lease term before increasing rent. There is no specific notice period required in this situation, but landlords are required to act in good faith.

How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Arizona?

Landlords in Arizona can increase the rent as often as they wish, as long as sufficient notice is provided each time.