|Max / Limit||None|
|Notice Requirement||60 Days (if no written lease)|
Does Colorado Have Rent Control?
No, Colorado does not have rent control laws limiting the amount that landlords may ask for rent and state law prohibits local governments from establishing their own rent control laws.
How Much Can a Landlord Raise Rent By in Colorado?
In Colorado, landlords can raise the rent by any amount that they wish. There is no legal limit or cap on the amount of a rent increase.
When Can a Landlord Raise Rent in Colorado?
In Colorado, landlords can raise the rent for any reason as long as they give proper notice, don’t do so during the fixed term of a lease (unless the lease allows for it), and aren’t doing so for certain discriminatory or retaliatory reasons.
When Can’t a Landlord Raise Rent in Colorado?
In Colorado, landlords cannot raise the rent during the middle of a lease’s fixed term (unless stated otherwise in the lease agreement), for certain discriminatory reasons (like race or age), for certain retaliatory reasons (such as in response to a tenant joining a union), or when certain conditions exist.
The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to:
- Gender (including gender identity)
- Sexual orientation
- Nationality or origin
- Familial status
Some local jurisdictions have enacted additional protection from discrimination for renters, such as in Denver and Boulder which prohibit discrimination due to other characteristics including:
- Source of income
- Hairstyle (including headwraps)
- Military status
Colorado law also prevents landlords from increasing rent in retaliation. An action by a landlord is considered retaliatory if it occurs after something a tenant does. The law does not specify what time period between the tenant action and rent increase qualifies as retaliation, so landlords should act in good faith when increasing rent.
Rent increases are considered retaliatory if they are in response to a tenant action, such as:
- Filing a complaint with the landlord or appropriate agency regarding the health or safety of the property
- Joining or organizing a tenants’ group or union
If the rental unit is a mobile home space, landlords cannot raise the rent if the park:
- Is not current on their registration
- Has any unpaid penalties from the division of housing
- Has not complied with any final agency order from the division of housing
How Much Notice is Needed to Raise Rent in Colorado?
Landlords in Colorado must give tenants at least 60 days’ notice before increasing rent when there is no written lease agreement. There is no state statute requiring a specific notice period when there is a written lease agreement, but landlords cannot increase rent during the lease term.
If the rental unit is a mobile home space, landlords must always give 60 days’ notice before increasing rent, regardless of whether there is an oral or written lease agreement.
How Often Can Rent Be Increased in Colorado?
Landlords in Colorado can only increase the rent once per year.
- 1 C.R.S. § 38-12-301
…no county or municipality may enact any ordinance or resolution that would control rent on either private residential property or a private residential housing unit.Source Link
- 2 Denver Code of Ord. § 28-95
It is a discriminatory practice to do any of the following acts based upon the…citizenship, immigration status…source of income, military status, protective hairstyle…refuse to initiate or conduct any transaction in real property…Source Link
- 3 Boulder Mun. Code § 12-1-2
It is an unfair housing practice, and no person…shall…refuse to…rent… because of the…custody of a minor child…source of income, or immigration status…Source Link
- 4 C.R.S. § 38-12-509
A landlord shall not retaliate against a tenant by increasing rent..in response to the tenant…Source Link
- 5 C.R.S. § 38-12-509
A landlord shall not retaliate…in response to the tenant…Having made a good faith complaint…Organizing or becoming a member of a tenants’ association or similar organization…Source Link
- 6 C.R.S. § 38-12-204
A landlord shall not increase rent on a mobile home park lot if the park…Does not have a current, active registration…Has any unpaid penalties…Has not fully complied…Source Link
- 7 C.R.S. § 38-12-701
…in a residential tenancy in which there is no written agreement between the landlord and tenant, a landlord may increase the rent only upon at least sixty days’ written notice to the tenant.Source Link
- 8 C.R.S. § 38-12-204
Rent shall not be increased without sixty days’ written notice to the home owner.Source Link
- 9 C.R.S. § 38-12-702
…a landlord shall not increase rent more than one time in any twelve-month period…Source Link